The Diet Fix

So it has been almost two years since I posted to this blog, but an exciting and busy two years it has been. I got engaged and I got married and I started focusing a lot more on my health. I had to stop blogging about delicious recipes, because I have been trying to cut back on high-fat foods (or bad fats anyways).

My husband and I have been on honeymoon for the last week and we’ve eaten like royalty all week and I’ve had a lot of margaritas and champagne. After honeymoon indulgence and all the wedding related celebrations, it is time to get my diet back on track. I am starting the 21 Day Fix diet and exercise program tomorrow. I haven’t tried the exercise program yet, but am looking forward to getting back to daily 30 minute workouts.

I am excited to try the Fix because this plan doesn’t seem so much like a “diet,” but more like a perfect portion controlled clean eating lifestyle switch. You can eat the fruits, vegetables, meat, carbs, cheese and other healthy fats that you like, but within your daily portions. The container measurements may be tough to get used to, but I hope they will help to hold me accountable. (Its easy to eat too much healthy food.)

The daily container allowance for my calorie bracket is:

4 Red (protein); 3 Green (vegetables); 2 Purple (fruit); 2 Yellow (carbs); 1 Blue (cheese and healthy fats); 1 Orange (dressings and seeds); 2 Teaspoons (oils, etc.)

Meal Plan

Week 1 Meal Plan

Here is the meal plan I came up with for my first week (starting Monday). I plan three main meals per day and 2 snacks. Some days I’ll have one snack between breakfast and lunch, and one between lunch and dinner, other days I won’t have a snack in the morning and instead have one after dinner.

No soda or juice, only water (lots) and one cup of coffee with 2 tablespoons of milk per day.

On Sunday, we have dinner at my parents place, so I will save up my yellows so I can have a glass of wine, and then eat according to what containers I have saved for that meal (cheese, salad, meat, potatoes).

Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Snacks
Monday scrambled eggs with peppers, onions and salsa ( 1 Red, 1 Green) roasted chicken* with mixed greens and balsamic (1 Red, 1 Green, ½ Orange, 1 tsp) steak with roasted (sweet) potatoes, green salad with balsamic (1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Green, ½ Orange, 1 tsp) Strawberries (1 purple)

Multi-grain crackers with cheddar (1 Yellow, 1 Blue)

Greek Yogurt with fruit compote* or berries and 1 tsp peanut butter (1 Red, 1 Purple, 1 tsp)

Tuesday Eggs, whole grain toast, watermelon (1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Purple) leftover steak, beet salad, mixed greens, goat’s cheese, balsamic (1 Red, 1 Green, ½ Blue, ½ Orange) Grilled chicken with tzatziki, greek salad with feta, couscous (1 ½ Red, 1 Green, ½ Blue, 1 Yellow) carrots & tzatziki (1 Green, ½ Red)

grapes (1 Purple)

Wednesday Overnight oats – Greek yogurt, berries and oatmeal, with 1 tsp peanut butter (1 Red, 1 Purple, 1 Yellow, 1 tsp) Greek Salad with feta, grilled chicken, creamy herb dressing (1 Green, ½ Blue, 1 Red, ½ Orange) Stuffed peppers (2 Green, 1 Red, ½ Blue, ½ Yellow, ½ Orange) multi-grain crackers (4) with 1 tsp peanut butter (½ yellow, 1 tsp)

protein shake (1 Red)

watermelon (1 Purple)

Thursday Protein shake, yogurt and berries, whole wheat toast, with 1 tsp peanut butter (2 Red, 1 Purple, 1 Yellow, 1 tsp) Stuffed peppers (2 Green, 1 Red, ½ Blue, ½ Yellow, ½ Orange) Salmon, green beans,couscous, Greek salad with feta (1 Red, 1 Green, ½ Yellow, ½ Blue, ½ Orange) -melon (1 Purple)

-yogurt and berries (1 Red, 1 Purple)

Friday berries and greek yogurt with 1 tsp peanut butter (1 Red, 1 Purple, 1 tsp) salmon with beet salad, mixed greens, goat’s cheese, balsamic (1 Red, 1 Green, ½ Blue, ½ Orange) beef tacos in corn tortillas, grilled peppers and onions, lettuce, salsa and cheese (1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Green. ½ Blue) -skim milk cappuccino (1 Yellow)

-yogurt, fruit  and peanut butter (1 Red, 1 Purple, 1 tsp)

Saturday Greek yogurt with berries and cinnamon, eggs and whole wheat toast (2 Red, 1 Purple, 1 Yellow) Taco salad – lettuce, peppers, salsa, ground beef, cheese (1 Green, 1 Red, ½ Blue) BBQ Chicken with corn, grilled peppers and onions (1 Red, 1 Yellow, 1 Green, 1 tsp) -carrots and hummus (1 Green, ½ Blue)

-grapes and pistachios (1 Purple, 1 Orange)

Sunday Scrambled eggs and fruit (1 Red, 1 Purple) Grilled chicken with roasted beets and mixed greens, balsamic (1 Red, 2 Green, ½ Orange) Sunday Family Dinner

(2 Yellow, 1 Red, 1 Blue, 1 Green, ½ Orange, 2 tsp)

-grapes (1 Purple)

protein shake (1 Red)

I did my groceries today (Sunday) and am preparing some meals for the week in advance. I hope that having healthy meals will help curb unhealthy choices.

Preparation

Today I made:

Fruit compote – for mixing with yogurt

Roasted Chicken Breasts – can keep in the fridge for about four days

– Beets – roasted, peeled and refrigerated for beet salad throughout the week

– Balsamic Dressing (21 Day Fix Recipe)

– Tzatziki – strain 2 Cups of plain Greek yogurt in cheese cloth lined sieve, set over a bowl in the fridge to make tzatziki tomorrow.

– Scrambled eggs with peppers and onions for breakfast tomorrow.

– Assemble lunch and snacks for tomorrow.

I am new to 21 Day Fix so would be happy to hear any advice and suggestions from anyone who has tried it in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

