Still Dreaming

It is the fourth of April and Spring still has not sprung in western Québec. Last year, on the first day of Spring it was 27 degrees Celsius. This year, it was -7. Two weeks into Spring and the temperatures are still in the negatives. We also still have quite a bit of snow that needs to melt.

In my last post, I talked about my dreams of starting a vegetable garden on our property. However, I decided I must observe the summer sun on our land for one season first.So I will wait another year in order to find the best location for it.

This year I opted for a cutting garden. I ordered my seeds from Veseys back in March and have started nearly all the ones that need to be started indoors. Now, hopefully the snow will melt so the ground will be ready in time for me to plant them outdoors.

I am looking forward to seeing what is already in the garden. I know there are lot of hydrangea’s and hostas, but apart from those I have no clue.

The new cutting garden will include:

  • Gerbera Daisies
  • Snapdragons
  • Asters
  • Cosmos
  • Dahilia’s
  • Calendula; and
  • Sunflowers

For the window boxes, I have started seeds of petunia, lobelia, verbena, and geranium.

Finally for edging and landscaping I have also started lavender, hollyhock, and in honour of my dear cousin Andrew, forget-him-nots.

Later this week, I will start posting about the needs and challenges of growing each seed.

Leave a Reply

